Memorandum



DATE February 1, 2022

TO Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

SUBJECT 2021 Redistricting Commission Annual Report

In accordance with City Code, Chapter 8 Boards and Commissions, SEC. 8-1.1., please accept this memo in place of an annual report, featuring a list of completed activities for the October 1, 2020 – September 30, 2021 fiscal year.

As required by the City Charter, the 2021 Redistricting Commission was fully appointed by the City Council in October 2021. Below you will find a complete list of Commissioners:

2021 City of Dallas Redistricting Commission		
Name	District	Appointment Date
Jesse D. Oliver (Chairman)	Mayor Eric Johnson (District 15)	8/25/2021
Diane Ragsdale (Vice-Chair)	Adam Bazaldua (District 7)	4/7/2021
Robert Stimson	Chad West (District 1)	1/27/2021
Roy Carlos Lopez	Jesse Moreno (District 2)	5/19/2021
Gregory Demus	Casey Thomas (District 3)	10/5/2021
Kebran Ware Alexander	Carolyn King Arnold (District 4)	3/3/2021
Domingo Alberto Garcia	Jaime Resendez (District 5)	5/20/2021
Ricardo Medrano	Omar Narvaez (District 6)	9/9/2021
Randall Bryant	Tennell Atkins (District 8)	2/24/2021
Brent Rosenthal	Paula Blackmon (District 9)	9/1/2021
Alan Walne	Adam McGough (District 10)	10/11/2021
Matthew R. Garcia	Jaynie Schultz (District 11)	6/2/2021

DATE SUBJECT

2021 Redistricting Commission Annual Report

Jonathan Neerman	Cara Mendelsohn (District 12)	8/25/2021
Barbara Brown Larkin	Gay Donnell Willis (District 13)	4/28/2021
Norma Minnis	Paul Ridley (District 14)	9/22/2021

City staff hosted an introductory Redistricting Commission Retreat on September 13, 2021 and the Commission voted to meet biweekly through December 2021.

During their November 8, 2021 regular meeting, the Commission approved a 2022 regular meeting schedule for dates beginning in January 2022 and concluding in May 2022. During their November 22, 2021 regular meeting, the Commission approved to host a series of eight town halls at area recreation centers to receive public feedback. They also voted on redistricting guidelines, requirements and a timeline to ensure the process is fair, equitable and transparent. The following target dates were established:

- April 15, 2022 Deadline for Plan Submissions
- April 25, 2022 Final Meeting for Plan Presentations
- May 2, 2022 Approve 3 Plans for Best and Final
- May 9, 2022 Vote on Amendments to Each Plan
- May 16, 2022 Vote on Amendments to Each Plan
- May 21, 2022 Public Hearing to receive comment on 3 Plans
- May 23, 2022 (target) Vote to Approve Final Plan (Additional Amendments If Necessary)

As you can see the Commission had just begun its work at the end of the fiscal year and that is why we hope you will accept this memo, instead of an annual report. We will submit a comprehensive annual report once our work is complete, anticipated for May/June 2022.

On behalf of the entire Redistricting Commission, we would like to thank you for your continued support, commitment and the opportunity to serve on this distinguished Commission.

Jesse Oliver, Chairman

2021 Redistricting Commission

c:

Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager

Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary

Brett Wilkinson, Director, Office of Government Affairs

C.C. Gonzalez-Kurz, Government Affairs Manager, Office of Government Affairs