

## REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

## DALLAS CITY HALL, COUNCIL CHAMBERS TUESDAY, May 10, 2022

Commission Members Present:

Jesse D. Oliver (Chairman) (District 15 – Attended In-Person) Diane Ragsdale (Vice-Chair) (District 7 – Attended In-Person) Robert Stimson (District 1 – Attended In-Person) Roy Lopez (District 2 – Attended In-Person) Gregory Demus (District 3 – Attended In-Person) Kebran Alexander (District 4 – Attended In-Person) Domingo Garcia (District 5 – Attended In-Person) Ricardo Medrano (District 6 – Attended In-Person) Randall Bryant (District 8 – Attended In-Person) Brent Rosenthal (District 9 – Attended In-Person) Alan Walne (District 10 – Attended In-Person) Matthew Garcia (District 11 – Attended In-Person) Jonathan Neerman (District 12 – Attended In-Person) Norma Minnis (District 14 – Attended In-Person)

Commission Members Absent:

City Staff Present:

C.C. Gonzalez-Kurz, Government Affairs Manager Christopher Nolfi, Government Affairs Coordinator Willow Sanchez, Assistant City Attorney Laura Morrison, Assistant City Attorney

9:43 A.M. Meeting reconvened by Chair Jesse D. Oliver.

- 1. ACTION ITEM: Map Amendment Workshop and Vote
  - The Commission resumed their work from Monday, May 9, 2022 by continuing discussions of amendments for proposed Map 128818.

- Commissioner Robert Stimson offered an amendment to proposed Map 128818 that made minor adjustments to District 8 while still meeting all the requirements established by the Commission. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Gregory Demus.
  - A. The Commission debated the amendment.
  - B. The Commission voted. The motion passed with 13 Commissioners in support of the motion, 1 Commissioner in opposition of the motion, and 1 Commissioner absent when vote taken.
    - a. Chair Jesse Oliver, Commissioners Diane Ragsdale, Robert Stimson, Roy Lopez, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Ricardo Medrano, Randall Bryant, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matt Garcia, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis voted in support of the motion.
    - b. Commissioner Domingo Garcia voted in opposition to the motion.
    - c. Commissioner Jonathan Neerman was absent when vote taken.
- Commissioner Norma Minnis offered a motion to adopt Map 128818 as amended as an amendment to COD-041-A. The motion was seconded by Ricardo Medrano.
  - A. The Commission debated the motion.
  - B. The Commission voted. The motion passed with 14 Commissioners in support of the motion, 0 Commissioners in opposition of the motion, and 1 Commissioner absent when vote taken.
    - a. Chair Jesse Oliver, Commissioners Diane Ragsdale, Robert Stimson, Roy Lopez, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, Ricardo Medrano, Randall Bryant, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matt Garcia, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis voted in support of the motion.
    - b. Commissioner Jonathan Neerman was absent when vote taken.
- Commissioner Norma Minnis offered a motion to replace COD-041-A with Map 128818 as amended, hereafter referred to as COD-041-B. The motion was seconded by Kebran Alexander.
  - The Commission debated the motion.
  - The Commission voted. The motion passed with 15 Commissioners in support of the motion and 0 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
- Commissioner Randall Bryant offered a motion to replace COD-017-A with Map 128789, hereafter referred to as COD-017-B. The motion was seconded by Kebran Alexander.
  - The Commission debated the motion.

- The Commission voted. The motion passed with 13 Commissioners in support of the motion, 1 Commissioners in opposition of the motion, and 1 Commissioner absent when vote taken.
  - A. Chair Jesse Oliver, Commissioners Diane Ragsdale, Robert Stimson, Roy Lopez, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, Randall Bryant, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matt Garcia, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis voted in support of the motion.
  - B. Commissioner Ricardo Medrano voted in opposition of the motion.
  - C. Commissioner Jonathan Neerman was absent when vote taken.
- Commissioner Randall Bryant offered a motion to make COD-017-B the Commission's final recommended districting plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Diane Ragsdale.
  - The Commission debated the motion.
  - The Commission voted. The motion failed with 7 Commissioners in support of the motion and 8 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
    - A. Chair Jesse Oliver, Commissioners Diane Ragsdale, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, Randall Bryant, and Matt Garcia voted in support of the motion.
    - B. Commissioners Robert Stimson, Roy Lopez, Ricardo Medrano, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Jonathan Neerman, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis voted in opposition of the motion.
- Commissioner Norma Minnis offered a motion to make COD-041-B the Commission's final recommended districting plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Ricardo Medrano.
  - The Commission debated the motion.
  - The Commission voted. The motion passed with 9 Commissioners in support of the motion and 6 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
    - A. Commissioners Robert Stimson, Roy Lopez, Ricardo Medrano, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matt Garcia, Jonathan Neerman, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis vote in support of the motion.
    - B. Chair Jesse Oliver, Commissioners Diane Ragsdale, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, and Randall Bryant voted in opposition of the motion.
- Commissioner Norma Minnis offered a motion to move COD-041-B, hereafter referred to as COD-041-B-Final, to Mayor and City Council as the Commission's final recommended districting plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Ricardo Medrano.
  - The Commission debated the motion.
  - The Commission voted. The motion passed with 10 Commissioners in support of the motion and 5 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
    - A. Chair Jesse Oliver, Commissioners Robert Stimson, Roy Lopez, Ricardo Medrano, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matt Garcia,

Jonathan Neerman, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis vote in support of the motion.

- B. Commissioners Diane Ragsdale, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, and Randall Bryant voted in opposition of the motion.
- 2. Approval of May 9, 2022 Minutes
  - The minutes from the May 9, 2022 Redistricting Commission Regular Meeting were approved unanimously by the commission.
- 3. Approval of May 10, 2022 Minutes
  - Chair Jesse Oliver asked for a motion that would allow the Chair to review and approve the final minutes of the Redistricting Commission for the May 10, 2022 meeting.
    - The Commission voted. The motion passed unanimously.

2:20 P.M. Meeting adjourned by Chair Jesse D. Oliver.

Ene lin SSE D. OLIVER, CHAIR

05/19/2022 DATE SIGNED

NOTE: For detailed information on the above meeting, please refer to the available video recording located on the City of Dallas City Secretary's Office website.