

REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

DALLAS CITY HALL, COUNCIL CHAMBERS MONDAY, May 2, 2022

Commission Members Present:

Jesse D. Oliver (Chairman) (District 15 - Attended In-Person)

Diane Ragsdale (Vice-Chair) (District 7 - Attended In-Person)

Robert Stimson (District 1 – Attended In-Person)

Roy Lopez (District 2 – Attended In-Person)

Gregory Demus (District 3 – Attended In-Person)

Kebran Alexander (District 4 – Attended In-Person)

Domingo Garcia (District 5 - Attended In-Person)

Ricardo Medrano (District 6 – Attended In-Person)

Randall Bryant (District 8 - Attended In-Person)

Brent Rosenthal (District 9 – Attended In-Person)

Alan Walne (District 10 – Attended In-Person)

Matthew Garcia (District 11 - Attended In-Person)

Jonathan Neerman (District 12 - Attended In-Person)

Barbara Larkin (District 13 - Attended In-Person)

Norma Minnis (District 14 – Attended In-Person)

Commission Members Absent:

City Staff Present:

C.C. Gonzalez-Kurz, Government Affairs Manager Christopher Nolfi, Government Affairs Coordinator Willow Sanchez, Assistant City Attorney Laura Morrison, Assistant City Attorney

4:20 P.M. Meeting called to order by Chair Jesse D. Oliver

- 1. Public Speakers
 - The Redistricting Commission had 39 public speakers.
- 2. Approval of April 25, 2022 Minutes

• The minutes from the April 25, 2022 Redistricting Commission Regular Meeting were approved by the commission.

3. CLOSED SESSION: Attorney Briefing

• The Commission entered closed session with the City Attorney's Office to discuss potential legal issues related to the adoption of a districting plan in accordance with Section 551.071 of the Texas Open Meetings Act.

4. BRIEFING ITEM: Redistricting Commission Meeting Protocol

• Chair Jesse Oliver briefly discussed a document that was previously provided to the Commission regarding protocols and decorum for the remainder of meetings.

5. ACTION ITEM: Map Amendment Workshop

- Chair Jesse Oliver provided a brief overview of how the Commission will handle proposed motions and amendments to the two preferred submission plans.
- Commissioner Domingo Garcia made a motion to adopt Map 127653, hereafter referred to as COD-017A, as an amendment to Map Submission COD-017. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Randall Bryant.
 - The Commission held general discussion and debate on COD-017A.
 - Consultants ARCBridge provided that COD-017A met all the requirements established by the Commission and provided an analysis of the map's compactness score as well as minority districts.
- Commissioner Robert Stimson made a substitute motion to adopt Map 127689, hereafter referred to as COD-017B, as an amendment to Map Submission COD-017. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brent Rosenthal.
 - The Commission held general discussion and debate on COD-017B.
 - After some discussion amongst the Commission, Commissioners Robert Stimson and Brent Rosenthal agreed to withdraw their motion to adopt COD-017B. After receiving no objection from the Commission, the motion was withdrawn.
- The Commission voted on the motion to adopt COD-017A as an amendment to Map Submission COD-017. The motion passed with 12 Commissioners in support of the motion and 3 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
 - Commissioners Jesse Oliver, Diane Ragsdale, Roy Lopez, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, Randall Bryant, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matthew Garcia, Jonathan Neerman, and Barbara Larkin voted in support of the motion.
 - Commissioners Robert Stimson, Ricardo Medrano, and Norma Minnis voted in opposition of the motion.
- The Commission then voted on a motion to accept COD-017A as the amended version of Map Submission COD-017 that will be presented to residents during the

Commission's public hearing on Saturday, May 7, 2022. The motion passed with 12 Commissioners in support of the motion and 3 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.

- Commissioners Jesse Oliver, Diane Ragsdale, Roy Lopez, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, Randall Bryant, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matthew Garcia, Jonathan Neerman, and Barbara Larkin voted in support of the motion.
- Commissioners Robert Stimson, Ricardo Medrano, and Norma Minnis voted in opposition of the motion.
- Commissioner Norma Minnis made a motion to adopt Map 127545, hereafter referred to as COD-041A, as an amendment to Map Submission COD-041. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Kebran Alexander.
 - The Commission held general discussion and debate on COD-041A.
 - Consultants ARCBridge provided that COD-041A met all the requirements established by the Commission and provided an analysis of the map's compactness score as well as minority districts.
- Commissioner Roy Lopez offered a substitute motion to adopt Map 127655, hereafter referred to as COD-041B, as an amendment to Map Submission COD-041. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Randall Bryant.
 - The Commission held general discussion and debate on COD-041B.
- The Commission voted on the motion to adopt COD-041B as an amendment to Map Submission COD-041. The motion failed with 5 Commissioners in support of the motion and 10 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
 - Commissioners Jesse Oliver, Roy Lopez, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, and Randall Bryant voted in support of the motion.
 - Commissioners Diane Ragsdale, Robert Stimson, Gregory Demus, Ricardo Medrano, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matthew Garcia, Jonathan Neerman, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis voted in opposition of the motion.
- The Commission returned to discussion of COD-041A.
- Commissioner Jonathan Neerman offered a friendly amendment that included a slight modification to COD-041A that made adjustments to the boundary between Districts 11 and 12. ARCBridge reported that the friendly amendment resulted in no significant changes to their analysis/evaluation of COD-041A. This friendly amendment was accepted by Commissioners Norma Minnis and Kebran Alexander.
- The Commission voted on the motion to adopt COD-041A as an amendment to Map Submission COD-041. The motion passed unanimously with 15 Commissioners in support of the motion and 0 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
- The Commission then voted on a motion to accept COD-041A as the amended version of Map Submission COD-041 that will be presented to residents during the

Commission's public hearing on Saturday, May 7, 2022. The motion passed unanimously with 15 Commissioners in support of the motion and 0 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.

11:02 P.M. Meeting adjourned by Chair Jesse D. Oliver

JESSE D. OLIVER, CHAIR	05/09/2022
JESSE D. OLIVER, CHAIR	DATE SIGNED
************	************
ale ale ale ale ale ale ale ale ale	

NOTE: For detailed information on the above meeting, please refer to the available video recording located on the City of Dallas City Secretary's Office website.