

# REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

# DALLAS CITY HALL, COUNCIL CHAMBERS SATURDAY, May 7, 2022

# Commission Members Present:

Jesse D. Oliver (Chairman) (District 15 – Attended In-Person)

Diane Ragsdale (Vice-Chair) (District 7 – Attended In-Person)

Robert Stimson (District 1 – Attended In-Person)

Roy Lopez (District 2 – Attended In-Person)

Gregory Demus (District 3 – Attended In-Person)

Domingo Garcia (District 5 – Attended In-Person)

Ricardo Medrano (District 6 - Attended In-Person)

Randall Bryant (District 8 – Attended Virtual)

Brent Rosenthal (District 9 – Attended In-Person)

Alan Walne (District 10 - Attended In-Person)

Matthew Garcia (District 11 – Attended In-Person)

Barbara Larkin (District 13 – Attended In-Person)

Norma Minnis (District 14 – Attended In-Person)

## Commission Members Absent:

Kebran Alexander (District 4)

Jonathan Neerman (District 12)

#### City Staff Present:

C.C. Gonzalez-Kurz, Government Affairs Manager

Christopher Nolfi, Government Affairs Coordinator

Willow Sanchez, Assistant City Attorney

Laura Morrison, Assistant City Attorney

### 3:54 P.M. Meeting called to order by Chair Jesse D. Oliver

- 1. BRIEFING ITEM: Welcome & Introductions
  - Chairman Jesse Oliver welcomed everyone to the May 7, 2022 public hearing and introduced himself.
  - Each commissioner in attendance introduced themselves.

- 2. BRIEFING ITEM: Redistricting Overview
  - Chairman Jesse Oliver provided a brief overview of the redistricting process, including their timeline, guidelines, and the phases of work the Commission had already accomplished.
- 3. BRIEFING ITEM: Map Analysis COD-017-A & COD-041-A
  - ARCBridge Consulting provided a brief overview of COD-017-A and COD-041-A, which included a breakdown of each map's deviation percentage, neighborhood splits, compactness score, and majority/plurality districts.
- 4. Receive Public Comment
  - The Redistricting Commission had 73 speakers during the May 7, 2022 public hearing.

8:02 P.M. Meeting adjourned by Chair Jesse D. Oliver

JESSE D. OLIVER, CHAIR

DATE SIGNED

NOTE: For detailed information on the above meeting, please refer to the available video recording located on the City of Dallas City Secretary's Office website.