

REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

DALLAS CITY HALL, COUNCIL CHAMBERS MONDAY, May 9, 2022

Commission Members Present:

Jesse D. Oliver (Chairman) (District 15 – Attended In-Person)

Diane Ragsdale (Vice-Chair) (District 7 – Attended In-Person)

Robert Stimson (District 1 – Attended In-Person)

Roy Lopez (District 2 – Attended In-Person)

Gregory Demus (District 3 – Attended In-Person)

Kebran Alexander (District 4 – Attended In-Person)

Domingo Garcia (District 5 – Attended In-Person)

Ricardo Medrano (District 6 – Attended In-Person)

Randall Bryant (District 8 – Attended In-Person)

Brent Rosenthal (District 9 – Attended In-Person)

Alan Walne (District 10 – Attended In-Person)

Matthew Garcia (District 11 – Attended In-Person)

Jonathan Neerman (District 12 – Attended In-Person)

Barbara Larkin (District 13 – Attended In-Person)

Norma Minnis (District 14 – Attended In-Person)

Commission Members Absent:

City Staff Present:

C.C. Gonzalez-Kurz, Government Affairs Manager Christopher Nolfi, Government Affairs Coordinator Willow Sanchez, Assistant City Attorney Laura Morrison, Assistant City Attorney

4:00 P.M. Meeting called to order by Chair Jesse D. Oliver

- 1. Public Speakers
 - The Redistricting Commission had 17 public speakers.
- 2. Approval of May 2, 2022 Minutes & May 7, 2022 Minutes

 The minutes from the May 2, 2022 Redistricting Commission Regular Meeting and the May 7, 2022 Redistricting Commission Public Hearing were approved by the commission.

3. ACTION ITEM: Map Amendment Workshop

- Chair Jesse Oliver provided a brief overview of how the Commission will handle proposed motions and amendments to the two preferred submission plans.
- Commissioner Randall Bryant made a motion to adopt Map 128789 as an amendment to Map Submission COD-017-A. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Domingo Garcia.
 - The Commission held general discussion and debate on Map 128789.
 - The Commission voted. The motion passed with 14 Commissioners in support of the motion and 1 Commissioner in opposition of the motion.
 - A. Commissioners Jesse Oliver, Diane Ragsdale, Robert Stimson, Roy Lopez, Gregory Demus, Kebran Alexander, Domingo Garcia, Randall Bryant, Brent Rosenthal, Alan Walne, Matthew Garcia, Jonathan Neerman, Barbara Larkin, and Norma Minnis voted in support of the motion.
 - B. Commissioner Ricardo Medrano voted in opposition of the motion.
- Commissioner Norma Minnis made a motion to adopt Map 128818 as an amendment to Map Submission COD-041-A. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Ricardo Medrano.
 - The Commission held general discussion and debate on Map 128818.
 - Commissioner Randall Bryant offered an amendment to proposed Map 128818 that made minor adjustments to District 3 and District 8 while still meeting all the requirements established by the Commission. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brent Rosenthal.
 - A. The Commission held general discussion on the proposed amendment.
 - B. The Commission voted. The motion passed with 15 Commissioners in support of the motion and 0 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.
 - Commissioner Randall Bryant offered an additional amendment to proposed Map 128818 as amended that made minor adjustments to District 2 and District 4 while still meeting all the requirements established by the Commission. Commissioner Diane Ragsdale seconded the motion.
 - A. The Commission held general discussion on the proposed amendment.
 - B. The Commission voted. The motion passed with 15 Commissioners in support of the motion and 0 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.

- Commissioner Brent Rosenthal offered an amendment to proposed Map 128818 as amended that made minor adjustments to District 2, District 6, and District 9 while still meeting all the requirements established by the Commission. Commissioner Gregory Demus seconded the motion.
 - A. The Commission held general discussion on the proposed amendment.
 - B. The Commission voted. The motion passed with 15 Commissioners in support of the motion and 0 Commissioners in opposition of the motion.

11:15 P.M. Meeting recessed by Chair Jesse D. Oliver at 11:15 p.m., to be reconvened beginning 9:30 A.M. Tuesday, May 10, 2022.

JESSE D. OLIVER, CHAIR

05/10/2022 DATE SIGNED

NOTE: For detailed information on the above meeting, please refer to the available video recording located on the City of Dallas City Secretary's Office website.